Saturday Thought

I wanted to explain why I think God is calling me a spirit of poverty. Mainly, it’s because I keep running across thing that have to do with poor in spirit. I opened my email this morning and Henri Nouwen has this to say…

The poor have a treasure to offer precisely because they cannot return our favours. By not paying us for what we have done for them, they call us to inner freedom, selflessness, generosity, and true care. Jesus says: “When you have a party, invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, the blind; then you will be blessed, for they have no means to repay you and so you will be repaid when the upright rise again” (Luke 14:13-14).

The repayment Jesus speaks about is spiritual. It is the joy, peace, and love of God that we so much desire. This is what the poor give us, not only in the afterlife but already here and now.

I think we find it rather hard to get our heads around being poor in spirit, because the word poor and poverty bring to mind money and our stuff, and Lords knows we don’t want to give up what we fought so hard to get.

images-1

Over the years, Preacher man and I have given up a lot of our money and stuff, for all kinds of reasons. I find that we now have room for other stuff, maybe newer stuff. But I think most of all we let go of our stuff in hopes that God would fill that need in us.

To be nothing, have nothing except God.

In the end, that’s all we can take with us anyway!

One thought on “Saturday Thought

Leave a Reply

